



developing competitive drivers

For Immediate Release: May 24, 2010

Contact: JDC MotorSports

Prepared by: ProMedia Motorsports PR

Photos available upon request

JDC MOTORSPORTS ADDS STAR MAZDA POINTS & MASTERS WIN TO 2010 TOTALS IN ROUND THREE

De Phillipi leads team charge at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, while Kraut captures Masters Series win

MONTEREY, CA. (May 24, 2010) – JDC MotorSports drivers once again showcased their talent behind the wheel this past weekend (May 22-23), with four top-10s and a class win in Round Three of the *Star Mazda Championship Presented by Goodyear* at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. Connor De Phillippi led the charge with a fourth place finish, and was joined in top-10 by Caio Lara (sixth), Chris Miller (seventh) and Gerry Kraut (tenth), the later capturing the Masters Series win with his strong result. Expert Series standout Patrick O'Neill retired prior to the checkered flag waving, finishing 16th.

Returning to the site of its 2009 title-winning triumph, the JDC Motorsports fivesome spent the opening day of testing at the northern California road course working on ideal setups for Saturday qualifying and the Sunday race. This approach proved successful, particularly for O'Neill and Kraut, as the duo ended the day as the quickest Expert Series and Master Series racers respectively. Lara led the way among the championship class trio, turning the fifth best time overall in the two sessions, just ahead of De Phillippi and Miller on the timecharts.

With the goal of positioning themselves for strong runs in the lone qualifying session, the JDC racers continued to show good pace in both Friday practice runs. Lara once again cracked the top-five in the No. 19 MLD/ATW/Molecule/Red Line Oil/JDC MotorSports entry, while the No. 11 MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development/Justice Brothers/Sparco/Rock View Farms/Oakley/Power Balance/Reline Athletic/Red Line Oil/JDC MotorSports of De Phillippi was right behind on the speedcharts, only a few places ahead of Miller's No. 85 Miller Milling/Red Line Oil/JDC MotorSports racer. O'Neill and Kraut continued their strong showing as well, leading their respective classes in both sessions.

As expected, qualifying for Round Three featured an entertaining battle for starting positions, with multiple JDC MotorSports drivers in the mix for top honors. In the end, De Phillippi led the team's charge, earning a row three starting position with the fifth quickest time. Unable to get in a true flyer due to traffic, Lara ended the session ninth fastest, not far ahead of Miller in 12th. O'Neill was 13th best in his No. 64 O'Neill Construction/Red Line Oil JDC MotorSports entry, earning the Expert Series pole. The No. 55 Dougherty & Co./Dougherty Funding LLC/Red Line Oil/JDC MotorSports racer of Kraut was 17th fastest, securing the Masters Series pole position.





developing competitive drivers

Returning to Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca one day later, the goal for all five JDC Motorsports drivers was to get a good launch from the now traditional standing start and keep their noses clean in the early stages of the race, in order to challenge for top honors as the race progressed. For the most part that is exactly what happed, as De Phillippi was able to drive a fast consistent pace, advancing up to fourth place – his best result to date in his rookie campaign – at the checkered flag. Lara and Miller followed their teammate forward, with Lara crossing the stripe in sixth, and Miller charging all the way up to seventh. Kraut ensured a JDC driver stood on the podium in California, capturing the Masters Series win with an impressive 10th place run. O'Neill unfortunately was unable to add another Expert Series win – having won at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca last season – to his resume, after losing several laps replacing a rear suspension failure early in the race.

JDC MotorSports continues its pursuit of a third *Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear* title this coming Saturday (May 29), with Round Four taking place at the O'Reilly Raceway Park oval, as part of the famed Night Before the 500 event.

Additional information on JDC MotorSports can be obtained from the team's website @ www.jdcmotorsports.com For direct contact, please contact John Church @ 952-233-3075

###

About JDC MotorSports:

Involved in formula car racing since its inception in 1994, JDC MotorSports has established itself as one of the leading junior open-wheel teams in North America. Initially making its mark in the F2000 class of club racing competition, JDC MotorSports was soon a team worth watching in the pro ranks. Competing in the Formula Ford 2000 Zetec Championship, the team not only won races, but also helped develop multiple young drivers. In 2005, JDC MotorSports expanded its efforts, entering the Star Mazda Championship. Quickly becoming one of the top teams in the series, JDC captured both the driver and team titles in 2007, as well as Rookie of the Year honors, with Dane Cameron scoring a series-high three wins. In 2008, JDC MotorSports was the runner-up in the Star Mazda Championship and finished fourth in its inaugural season F2000 Championship Series competition. The Minnesota-based team won the Star Mazda Championship title with Rookie of the Year Adam Christodoulou, and the F2000 Championship Series title with Chris Miller in 2009.