



developing competitive drivers

For Immediate Release: March 16, 2010

Contact: JDC MotorSports Prepared by: ProMedia Motorsports PR Photos available upon request

# JDC MOTORSPORTS FIRES UP TITLE DEFENCE AT SEBRING

### Four-car effort features two veterans and two junior formula car champions

MINNEAPOLIS, MN (March 16, 2010) – JDC MotorSports will commence its title defense of the *Star Mazda Championship Presented by Goodyear* late this week (March 18), when the opening round of the series takes place at Sebring International Raceway as part of the famed 12 Hours of Sebring event. The Minnesota-based race team enters the season well positioned to win a third series title, with series veterans Caio Lara and Gerry Kraut being joined throughout the 2010 race season by highly rated rookies Connor De Phillippi and Chris Miller. A little over a month after a strong showing in the lone official Star Mazda Championship pre-season test at Sebring, the quartet of JDC MotorSports drivers will return to the historic road course to begin their pursuit of a championship title.

For Lara, the 2010 campaign marks the second year of a successful partnership with JDC MotorSports. The Brazilian will once again pilot the No. 19 MLD/ATW/Molecule/Red Line Oil/JDC MotorSports entry. Lara was a front-runner throughout the season one year ago, finishing inside the top-10 in all but two races en route to eighth in the final series standings. Given that Lara narrowly missed the podium in his inaugural race with the team one year ago at Sebring, many are expecting big things from the JDC driver in both the season-opener and throughout the 14-race campaign.

Kraut returns to JDC this season not only as a team co-owner, but also as one of the early favorites for the Masters Series title (for drivers 45 years of age and older). Driving the No. 55 Dougherty & Co./Dougherty Funding LLC/Red Line Oil/JDC MotorSports, Kraut has won numerous Masters Series races over the past few seasons, finishing as the class runner-up last year. The Minnesota native led the class in pre-season testing and enters Round One confident that he can better his runner-up Masters Series finish in last year's edition of the traditional season-opener.

Thanks in large part to backing from Mazda via its MAZASPEED Motorsports Development program, De Phillippi is expected to be a key component in JDC's pursuit of back-to-back Star Mazda Championship titles. The Californian will get behind the wheel of No. 11 MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development/Justice Brothers/Sparco/Rock View Farms/Oakley/Power Balance/Reline Athletics Red Line Oil/JDC MotorSports entry, as the reigning Skip Barber National series champion following a record setting seven-win season. Given his added success

www.jdcmotorsports.com





# developing competitive drivers

as a member of the Team USA program – winning the 2009 Walter Hayes Trophy Formula Ford race in England – and the fact that he's won the prestigious Superkarts USA! SuperNationals a record four times, many expect De Phillippi to not only challenge for Rookie of the Year honors, but also the championship title this year.

Miller makes it two reigning junior formula car champions under the JDC awning at Sebring. Piloting the No. 85 Miller Milling/Red Line Oil/JDC MotorSports entry, Miller takes to the central Florida race track for Round One as the reigning F2000 Championship Series champion following a series-high four-win campaign with JDC. Big things are expected of the Edina, MN, driver following his Star Mazda Champion debut in the final two races last year, and his continued progress in pre-season testing.

The on-track action for JDC MotorSports at Sebring International Raceway gets underway on March 16<sup>th</sup>, with a pair 40-minute practice sessions. Two additional practice sessions will be conducted one day later, followed by the lone qualifying session on Thursday morning (March 18). Round One of the *Star Mazda Championship Presented by Goodyear* is scheduled to commence with the cars launching from a standing start at 12:45 p.m. local time on Friday (March 19).

Additional information on JDC MotorSports can be obtained from the team's website @ <u>www.jdcmotorsports.com</u> For direct contact, please contact John Church @ 952-233-3075

#### ###

## About JDC MotorSports:

Involved in formula car racing since its inception in 1994, JDC MotorSports has established itself as one of the leading junior open-wheel teams in North America. Initially making its mark in the F2000 class of club racing competition, JDC MotorSports was soon a team worth watching in the pro ranks. Competing in the Formula Ford 2000 Zetec Championship, the team not only won races, but also helped develop multiple young drivers. In 2005, JDC MotorSports expanded its efforts, entering the Star Mazda Championship. Quickly becoming one of the top teams in the series, JDC captured both the driver and team titles in 2007, as well as Rookie of the Year honors, with Dane Cameron scoring a series-high three wins. In 2008, JDC MotorSports was the runner-up in the Star Mazda Championship and finished fourth in its inaugural season F2000 Championship Series competition. The Minnesota-based team won the Star Mazda Championship Series title with Rookie of the Year Adam Christodoulou, and the F2000 Championship Series title with Chris Miller in 2009.

#### Attachments:

**Photo:** 300 x 204 pixels web-ready JPEG **Possible Caption:** Chris Miller is one of two reigning junior formula car champions driving for JDC MotorSports in the 2010 Star Mazda Championship season-opener. (Photo: Star Mazda Championship)

