



developing competitive drivers

For Immediate Release: October 12, 2009

Contact: JDC MotorSports Prepared by: ProMedia Motorsports PR Photos available upon request

JDC MOTORSPORTS WINS DRIVER AND TEAM TITLES WITH LAGUNA SECA VICTORY

Christodoulou clinched the 2009 championship crown with a narrow victory over his teammate Ardoin

MONTEREY, CALIF. (October 12, 2009) – JDC MotorSports completed its goal of capturing the 2009 Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear title on Saturday (October 10), with Adam Christodoulou scoring the victory in the Round 13 season-finale at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. In what was a dream finish to the 2009 campaign, the series champion and Rookie of the Year was joined on the podium by his JDC MotorSports teammate Alex Ardoin, who finished second. With the addition of Gerry Kraut's Masters Series runner-up result (13th overall), Masters champion Michael Guasch's 14th place finish, Caio Lara's 16th place, and Chris Miller's 19th position, JDC MotorSports also ended the season as the Star Mazda Team champions.

The Star Mazda Championship season-finale got underway for the JDC MotorSports drivers via a pair of promoter's test sessions on Thursday (October 8). Setting the stage for what would ultimately be championship-winning event, Christodoulou was the driver to beat in the opening session, before Lara and Ardoin joined the top-six in the afternoon session.

When practice officially got underway one day later, the trend continued, with Christodoulou's No. 11 Miller Milling/ Molecule/Red Line Oil/JDC MotorSports entry once again challenging for top honors, only marginally quicker than both Ardoin and Lara. Behind the trio on the time charts, Guasch, having already clinched the Masters Series crown, was also enjoying a strong start to the event, leading the Masters contingent.

The lone qualifying session of the Star Mazda season-finale proved to be a dramatic affair on Saturday morning, with fog and cool temperatures greeting all the drivers. As expected the JDC MotorSports drivers rose to the challenge, with Christodoulou, Ardoin and Lara all in contention for the pole position. Christodoulou led the way for the majority of the session, however when the checkered flag waved, the previously crowned Rookie of the Year came up a mere three one hundredths of a second short, earning a front-row starting position. Only a couple tenths back on the timing monitors, Ardoin earned a row two starting position in his No. 51 Oral & Facial Surgery Center/Red Line Oil/JDC MotorSports, while Lara's No. 19 MLD/ATW/Molecule/Red Line Oil/JDC MotorSports in only his second career start, posted the 12th fastest time, while Guasch earned the Masters pole with the 19th best time, just ahead of Kraut in 22nd.

www.jdcmotorsports.com





developing competitive drivers

After a short break it was time to go racing, with the entire Star Mazda field launching from the exciting standing start. Both Christodoulou and Ardoin timed the lights to perfection, immediately passing the polesitter for first and second. Lara quickly made it a JDC one-two-three, slotting into third place. While Miller initially got away cleanly as well, his chances at a top finish soon disappeared, when a suspension failure forced the reigning F2000 Championship Series champion to pit for repairs. Guasch and Kraut enjoyed a good start not far behind, battling for the Masters lead.

Lap after lap, the JDC trio led the way around the undulating Northern California road course, with Ardoin holding a slight advantage over Christodoulou. The order however did not remain constant, as first Lara was forced off-course, losing multiple positions, before Christodoulou found a way past his teammate into the lead. While Ardoin closed the gap in the final stages of the 33-lap affair, Christodoulou was not to be denied. The British rookie as a result not only captured the Round 13 victory, but thanks to the championship leader retiring prematurely in the season-finale, secured the series title by 12 points. Ardoin finished second, improving to fourth in the final championship standings. Several cars behind the duo, Guasch's No. 91 Molecule/Red Line Oil/JDC MotorSports and Kraut's No. 55 Dougherty & Co./Dougherty Funding LLC/Red Line Oil/JDC MotorSports diced all the way the checkered flag, with Kraut edging his JDC teammate for 13th and the Masters runner-up spot. Lara, in what was a disappointing finish to strong season-finale, crossed the stripe in 16th. Following repairs to his car, Miller received the checkered flag in 19th.

The entire JDC MotorSports crew will now take a brief break to celebrate and enjoy its championship-winning Star Mazda season, before commencing preparations for a title defense in 2010.

Additional information on JDC MotorSports can be obtained from the team's website @ <u>www.jdcmotorsports.com</u> For direct contact, please contact John Church @ 952-233-3075

###

About JDC MotorSports:

Involved in formula car racing since its inception in 1994, JDC MotorSports has established itself as one of the leading junior open-wheel teams in North America. Initially making its mark in the F2000 class of club racing competition, JDC MotorSports was soon a team worth watching in the pro ranks. Competing in the Formula Ford 2000 Zetec Championship, the team not only won races, but also helped develop multiple young drivers. In 2005, JDC MotorSports expanded its efforts, entering the Star Mazda Championship. Quickly becoming one of the top teams in the series, JDC captured both the driver and team titles in 2007, as well as Rookie of the Year honors, with Dane Cameron scoring a series-high three wins. In 2008, JDC MotorSports was the runner-up in the Star Mazda Championship and finished fourth in its inaugural season F2000 Championship Series competition. The Minnesota-based team recently captured the 2009 F2000 Championship Series title with a series-high four wins.

Attachments:

Photo: 300 x 225 pixels web-ready JPEG Possible Caption: Adam Christodoulou secured the drivers title and team title for JDC MotorSports with the season-finale victory at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. (Photo: Star Mazda Championship)

www.jdcmotorsports.com