SPEED Channel to air all 2006 Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear events

March 9, 2006 – Pacoima, California. With the opening round of the 2006 Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear fast approaching, Series President Gary Rodrigues revealed the SPEED Channel broadcast schedule featuring prime-time weekend time slots and shorter tape-delays for this season.

“We are extremely pleased to continue working with SPEED Channel to present some of the most exciting racing in the world,” Rodrigues said. “In 2005 we expanded our coverage from 30-minte programs to one-hour shows dedicated to each event which allowed us to present more of the personalities that make this the most competitive development series in North America. We look forward to continuing this format in 2006 and improving exposure by having the events air closer to their corresponding race dates.”

SPEED Channel coverage will consist of 12 one-hour broadcasts following each event on a tape-delayed basis, with seven shows scheduled for Sunday afternoons and five set to air on Saturday afternoons. The first race broadcast, from the opening round of the championship at Sebring International Raceway, is scheduled to air on Sunday, April 9th at 4:00 PM Eastern Time.

About the Star Mazda Series

The Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear has become the most competitive open-wheel development series in North America. Featuring the Pro Formula Mazda, which features a carbon-fiber chassis, six-speed sequential gearbox, and a 240-horsepower Mazda rotary powerplant, the series has helped propel the careers of drivers such as 2004 Champion Michael McDowell, now driving in ChampCar and a race-winner in the GrandAm Series; 2002 Champion Guy Cosmo, who along with fellow Star Mazda graduate Jamie Bach was named 2005 Rookie-of-the-Year in the American LeMans Series, and 2002 race winner Scott Speed, who will line up on the Formula One grid this season.

2006 Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear
SPEED Channel Broadcast Schedule

Round 1 - Sebring International Raceway
Sunday, April 9
4:00 PM

Round 2 – Houston Street Circuit
Sunday, May 28
5:00 PM

Round 3 - Mid Ohio Sports Car Course
Sunday, June 11
3:00 PM

Round 4 - Milwaukee Mile
Sunday, June 18
1:00 PM

Round 5 - Gilles Villeneuve Circuit
Sunday, July 9
1:00 PM

Round 6 - Miller Motorsports Park
Saturday, July 29
3:00 PM

Round 7 - Portland International Raceway
Saturday, August 5
1:00 PM

Round 8 - Trois Rivieres Street Circuit
Sunday, August 13
1:00 PM

Round 9 - Road America
Saturday, August 26
3:00 PM

Round 10 - Mosport International Raceway
Saturday, September 9
1:00 PM

Round 11 - Road Atlanta
Saturday, October 14
1:00 PM

Round 12 - Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca
Sunday, October 29
3:00 PM

All broadcast times listed are Eastern Time and are subject to change. Please check listings as broadcast dates approach at http://www.speedtv.com/programs/86/