Best Western Joins As Star Mazda Series Sponsor

WEDNESDAY, MARCH 17-The Star Mazda Series will kick off its 1999 racing season on Friday, March 19, at Sebring International Raceway, where it was also announced that Best Western has signed on as a sponsor of the six-race television series, which will be referred to as the Star Mazda Series Best Western Championship.

This is the first year a separate championship has been established for the espn2-televised races. Points will be calculated for Sebring, March 19; Road Atlanta, April 17; Pikes Peak, June 26; Sears Point, July 24; Portland, July 31; and San Diego, Nov. 6, with the champion awarded a model year 2000 Mazda Miata. Total prize value is estimated at more than
$100,000, counting the final championship money, a pro Formula Atlantic test session and other contingency awards, according to series administrator Gary Rodrigues.

"Mazda's and Best Western's support have allowed us to give this new series the emphasis it deserves," said Rodrigues, who outlined the championship payout further by saying that second place in the final points would be awarded $12,000, with generous payouts paid down to 10th place (see chart below).

1999 Star Mazda Series/Best Western Championship
Date Location
Mar 19 Sebring
Apr 17 Road Atlanta
Jun 26 Pikes Peak
Jul 24 Sears Point
Jul 31 Portland
Nov 6 San Diego
*All races sanctioned by Professional Sports Car, and televised by espn2.

1999 Star Mazda Series/Best Western Championship
Champion - 2000 Mazda Miata
2nd Place - $12,000
3rd Place - $9,000
4th Place - $7,000
5th Place - $5,000
6th Place - $4,000
7th Place - $3,500
8th Place - $3,000
9th Place - $2,500
10th Place - $2,000